About

Club from water

 The Quoile Yacht Club was founded in Downpatrick at the Quoile Quay, on the then tidal Quoile River, in 1953. When, in 1957, the Ministry of Agriculture built a barrier at Castle Island, to alleviate the regular damaging flooding to which Downpatrick was subjected in times of high tide and heavy rain, they agreed to relocate the club to the seaward side of the barrier. The site was excavated and levelled, and a slipway provided. Thus the Club was reborn on its present site, with sheltered deepwater moorings, space for caravans, clubhouse and parking. After over 60 years of investment and improvements the Quoile can boast some of the best facilities on Strangford Lough. 

The Club, which is a private Members Club, organises sailing and social events for both Members and Visitors, it has gained an enviable reputation for organising top quality sailing events, including the Spring Series, Regatta and Two Day Event.  

 

   Image may contain: ocean, sky, boat, outdoor, water and nature

 

 

 

Share this page: